What is Dying?

“What is dying?
The ship sailed away
and I stand watching
till it fades on the horizon,
and someone at my side says: ‘The ship is gone.’
  

Gone where? Gone from my sight, that is all;
the ship is just as large as when I saw it.
As I see the ship grow smaller
and go out of sight,
it is just at that moment
that there are others in a different place
who say:
‘Watch; here the ship comes’”
and other voices take up a glad shout:
‘You have arrived!’
– and that is what dying is about.”
 

I found this on a prayer site run by the De La Salle Brothers, Praying Each Day. I’d like to believe someone welcomed Malc.

Leave a Reply

