A New Way of the Cross

This year on Good Friday my husband and I made our own way of the cross: we walked to the site where Malcolm shot himself three years ago. We walked to the corner where he parked his car. We walked across the open lot that he crossed to get to the lakefront.  But up on the levee there has been construction, so we can no longer place our hands on the soil that absorbed his blood and add out tears to the ground that held him as he died. Perhaps that’s a good thing.

I am not prone to quoting scripture, but I am reminded of the Book of Revelation, ” And God shall wipe away all tears from their eyes; and there shall be no more death, neither sorrow, nor crying, neither shall there be any more pain: for the former things are passed away.  And he that sat upon the throne said, Behold, I make all things new.”

It gives me comfort to think that God has taken my son and made all things new for him. It’s a good thought today, and I am in need of good thoughts. A new levee represents strength and safety and protection. Malcolm would approve.

2 responses to “A New Way of the Cross

  1. Thank you for sharing this, I pray that you can find peace in many places, especially in your heart…. Your son would want that.

    I try to tell myself that I gave my son life and it was his to live, but dying was never suppose to be apart of his life cycle (before I died), especially by suicide….. Wishing you continued healing

  2. Hi Mo,

    “…..And God shall wipe away all tears from their eyes; and there shall be no more death, neither sorrow, nor crying, neither shall there be any more pain: for the former things are passed away. And he that sat upon the throne said, Behold, I make all things new.”

    *************

    Today, in a GCSE R.E. lesson with a Yr. 9 (13-14 yr. olds) class, I played them some extracts from Mel Gibson’s “Passion Of The Christ”, in particular the moment when Jesus falls and Mary eventually comes to his aid, my favourite moment in the film (though it is pure Hollywood). Gibson has a wonderful idea at this point. He puts words from the Book of Revelation into Jesus’ mouth that seem so right. Jesus says to Mary: “See, Mother, I make all things new,” and I explained to them where the quote comes from. The same words you wrote today. Since I first saw the film those words have stayed with me as a beacon of hope.

    God bless. Love + hugs.

    James

Leave a Reply

