“What Have You Done?”

What have you done,
My sweet, my own son?
What have you done today?

Taken a gun,
My sweet my own son,
Taken a gun to die.

And died
And cried
And tried to explain

And prayed
And laid
Your sweet body down.

You went away
One sad, lonely day
You went away my son.

I prayed
I laid
my own body down

I tried
I cried
Touched my hand to the ground.

But you weren’t there
Didn’t answer my prayer
You were just gone, my son.

You weren’t  there
Didn’t answer my prayer
Left me forever alone.

Leave a Reply

