Two Years

Two years, Malc. Two years. We saw Manfred a few weeks ago.  He was in from Austria. He wanted to visit your grave. We are going to see James this weekend.  His final concert with the New Dominions. He’s applying for jobs in Washington.  I guess we are losing him too, but in a different way.

Malc, I wish I could have that last day back so I could tell you I love you one more time and not just, “Bye, have a good day.” I wish I could have that last day back so you could skip class and I’d skip work and we’d  go fishing and you could tell me how much you hurt.

I wish I could have that last day back so we could go forward together and create a different future, one where you choose to stay and let your dad and me help you.

I just wish I could have you back. My sweet, my son, my number one.

Leave a Reply

