God’s Grace

I held a baby at work today. A co-worker had his infant son with him. The baby began crying and I held him and stroked his face and hummed, and he took his pacifier and was content. He relaxed and then he slept in my arms. It was such a joy to hold that child; I wasn’t helping a co-worker I was helping me. I felt my heart heal, if only a little, and I felt a joy that I haven’t been able to feel all year. New life is such a grace, such a sign of hope. It was OK that I had to hand him back because in laying my hand on his face somehow God had laid her hand on my heart.

Leave a Reply

